Bengal Toilet Training – Part 2

It has been 4 months since I posted Part 1 of our Bengal toilet training endeavors, and unfortunately we are still in training.

Kahlia was given a clean bill of health by the vet, so her inappropriate urination is something other than a physical condition. From what I can tell (after numerous trials of various litter brands), it seems to be an aversion to sharing the litter box with Azaria. So now I have 3 Litter-Kwitter units set up around my home to give her options.

If you don’t have 3 toilets (or if you don’t want to occupy all of your toilets with the Litter Kwitter) I have devised a toilet substitue using a 15″ plant-pot. Inside I placed a brick to weigh it down and provide some stability, and on top of that I placed a white, plastic bowl to hold some water and simulate the white toilet basin. Place the Littler Kwitter over this and you have an instant make-shift cat toilet!

We had progressed to the yellow stage of the training, but because Kahlia was still urinating in inappropriate places we went back to the red stage. I don’t want to force her if she is not ready to move ahead with the training as this can cause stress. It can also result in reluctance to urinate and holding it in for long periods of time, increasing susceptibility to urinary tract infections.

So we are taking it very slowly. The good news is Kahlia is getting much better; I am using a food-based reward system when she uses the Litter-Kwitter which has really helped to improve her behavior. I have also purchased the Doogie’s MultiKatKit, which are basically additional Amber and Green discs with different sized holes to help make the transition between stages a little easier. So I’m about to move ahead to the amber stage again and see how we go.

Stay tuned!

Leave a comment